Are you itching to hit the open road but can’t seem to find the time (or motivation) to sit in a stuffy classroom with boring lessons?
We’ve got the solution for you – online driving schools!
Much like your traditional driving school, online driver’s ed provides students with an up-to-date course curriculum on safety, state laws, and valuable driving techniques.
The only difference is that you can learn everything from the comfort of your own home!
Let’s take a look at the 5 best online driver’s ed courses in Vermont based on course curriculum, convenience, and costs.
Best Online Driver’s Ed Courses in Vermont
The best online driver’s ed courses ensure quality and valuable materials at an affordable rate.
Here are our top 5 picks:
Let’s take a closer look at them.
With a passion for offering the most effective courses on the market, DriversEd.com has truly set the standard for driver education.
In fact, DriversEd is approved by the reputable Road Safety Educators Association and accredited by the Driving School Association of the Americas.
Over 13 million drivers have trusted this driving school as a convenient, fun, and effective way to become a better driver.
DriversEd.com currently offers Teen Drivers Ed and Adult Drivers Ed courses online. Have access to comprehensive lectures, interactive videos, and 3D animations!
This course was specially designed to be straightforward and fast – providing every Vermont teen with all the essential information on the responsibility of driving.
Adults earning their first license can have 24/7 access to valuable resource materials and quizzes that make for a rich learning experience. Drivers can also get up to 20% auto insurance discounts after taking this course.
Check out the DriversEd website for exclusive discounts on Teen Drivers and Adult Drivers Ed.
Cost: Teen (around $25) & Adult (around $50)
Note: DriversEd is not state-approved. You have to ask special permission from the DMV if you want to take this course to satisfy state requirements.
After over 20 years of quality service in driver’s ed, more than 6 million students have been satisfied with DriverEdToGo!
Over the years, DriverEdToGo has partnered with hundreds of high schools – always offering the same quality services at an affordable price.
Clients trust DriverEdToGo to feature course material that is carefully designed by industry professionals.
What’s more, Vermont teens can benefit from as much as 2.5 credits toward their high school graduation! They also get 24/7 access to informative reading materials from any mobile device.
Alternatively, adults who take online driver’s ed courses may qualify for auto insurance discounts.
Note: DriverEdToGo is not state-approved. You have to ask special permission from the DMV if you want to take this course to satisfy state requirements.
At All Star Driving Education, learning is more than memorizing traffic laws and getting behind the wheel.
All Star is committed to upholding its core values of customer-first, discipline, innovation, and proud work.
However, for their Vermont driver’s ed, they only offer it to 18-year-olds and above. And, since that age isn’t required to take a driver’s ed, they won’t send any certificate of completion.
Still, drivers 18 years old and above can experience the exceptional services of All Star Drivers Education. With its special curriculum designed by expert driving professionals, gain the knowledge and confidence to get safely behind the wheel.
While the All Star Adult Driver Education course isn’t state-approved, it provides engaging training to help improve driving skills.
Cost: around $60
Don’t think online driver’s ed will be engaging enough?
Think again — DmvEdu is all about offering interactive and easy-to-understand driving classes.
Since 2010, DmvEdu has provided quality driver’s ed and defensive driving to thousands of students!
In DmvEdu’s venture to offer the most comprehensive courses, the company was given an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau (BBB).
This course not only teaches you how to drive safely but also helps you prepare for the DMV licensure exam.
At just around $25, VT students under 18 years old can conveniently learn anytime and anywhere, on any mobile device.
Note: DmvEdu is not state-approved. You have to ask special permission from the DMV if you want to take this course to satisfy state requirements.
If safety is your number one priority, then the best option for you is to enroll at SafeMotorist.
This driving school is a product of the American Safety Council's mission to provide Americans reliable driving training centered on road safety and responsible driving.
The SafeMotorist VT online Driver Education course covers all the important details to help them maneuver safely on the road.
Students get unlimited access to real driving situations and exercises that will train them to be well-informed and responsible licensed drivers.
To be sure, it provides helpful information that will undoubtedly keep you safe behind the wheel.
Benefit from unlimited 24/7 access to detailed resources on safe and responsible driving techniques for just around $50!
Note: SafeMotorist is not state-approved. You have to ask special permission from the DMV if you want to take this course to satisfy state requirements.
Vermont Online Driver’s Ed FAQs
Read our FAQs section before signing up for an online driver’s ed in Vermont:
Is Driver’s Ed Required in Vermont?
If you are below 18 years old, then you are required to take a driver’s ed.
If you are above 18 years old, you do not have to take driver’s ed. However, it is strongly advised to study it as it will help you prepare for the written exam and be a better and safer driver on the road.
How Can I Apply for a Driver’s License in Vermont?
All applicants must be a Vermont resident or a resident of another state enrolled in a VT DMV-approved driver’s ed course.
For learner’s permit (18 below):
To apply for a learner’s permit, all driving students must be at least 15 years old.
From there, minors must obtain permission from a parent or legal guardian through a signed form.
Learner’s permit applicants must have a clean driving record in the past two years.
Applicants will be required to take a test at the DMV office or online. After vision tests and processing of fees and documents, a Learner’s Permit will be issued.
For junior driver’s license (16-17 years):
All applicants must have a clean driving record without any learner’s permit suspensions and recalls within the past 6 months.
Take note that drivers should have possessed a learner’s permit for at least a year.
Before getting a junior’s license, applicants must complete a state-approved driver’s ed course consisting of:
- 30 hours of classroom instruction
- 6 hours in-car training
- 6 hours of observation
40 hours of driving practice with at least 10 hours of nighttime driving should also be completed.
From there, junior license applicants need to get permission from a parent or legal guardian to take the VT DMV exam.
How Long Does It Take to Complete an Online Driver’s Ed Course in Vermont?
Teen drivers between 16 and 17 years old should expect to spend 30 credit hours of classroom study in a Vermont online driver education course.
Online driver’s ed course is a practical and affordable way to get your license. Online driver’s ed courses also have the benefit of convenience and self-paced learning, all in an interactive package!
Check out our list of reliable and convenient options for online driver education schools in Vermont!