Do you need to get a copy of your Delaware driving record?
Whether you’re applying for an auto insurance discount or just want to check your points, you will need to request a copy from the Delaware DMV.
But how do you do that?
In this article, we’ll give you a guide on how to get your Delaware driving record this 2022.
Plus, we’ll talk about Delaware’s point system and how to avoid them.
So shall we?
Why Do You Need Your Delaware Driving Record?
Your Delaware driving record will contain up-to-date information on your driver’s license status, driving history, and convictions.
Driving records in Delaware are used:
- For personal reasons: you may request a copy for employment or identification purposes. Also, it’s essential to check the information on your driving record annually, especially the violations and points noted on your record.
- For employment: driving records are used to run a personal background check for pre-employment screening.
- For insurance: insurance companies will request a driving record to review claims and to adjust their policy rates.
- For legal proceedings: driving records are official documents used by the court, government agencies, and law enforcement to investigate legal cases.
- For identity theft and debt collection: driving records can be used to obtain correct personal information to prevent fraud or collect security interest or debt.
What Information Does Delaware Driving Records Give?
A Delaware driving record will contain two types of legal information. These are:
- Personal information
- Moving violation record
This is used primarily as an official document for identification. This is why it’s important to check your driving record annually. You need to ensure that your name, photo, contact details, address, social security number, driver’s license status, and medical information are accurate and up-to-date.
Moving Violation Record
This section is used by employers, insurance agents, and other organizations or agencies to understand your driving behavior and habits. The information here includes tickets, convictions, violations, offenses, fines, and accidents.
It also contains all points on your driving record within the past three or five years. (Read more about how to avoid accumulating these points down below.)
How to Request For Your Delaware Driving Record
Drivers can request their own Delaware driving record in person, by mail, or online.
If you are requesting a copy of another driver’s record, you first need to be eligible to request a copy. This is important since driving records contain personal information.
Now, let’s look at the details on how to request in person, by mail, or online.
You may purchase a copy of your three-year, five-year, or full driving record at any local DMV office.
You will have to complete a request form, provide some personal information and identification documents, and pay a fee of $25 for the driving record. Acceptable payment methods include cash, checks, money orders, and credit cards.
To request a Delaware driving record by mail, you will need to print out and complete the Personal Information Release Form (In the form, you can check below for what lines you need to complete to request your own or someone else’s record). Since you are not appearing in person, you have to get the form notarized with a seal or stamp.
The driving record fee is $25 and can be paid through check or money order.
Make sure to send your form and payment with a self-addressed and stamped envelope so the DMV can send your record.
Send your form and payment to the mailing address at:
Division of Motor Vehicles
ATTN.: Driver License Administration
P.O. Box 698
Dover, DE 19903
For complete convenience, request your Delaware driving record online.
To do that, simply log onto your MyDMV account and purchase your driving record copy for $25.
If you don’t have an account, or it isn’t active anymore, you can create one here.
As simple as that!
Understanding the Delaware Driving Point System
Delaware has a Driver Improvement Problem Driver Program which is designed to:
- Identify problematic drivers
- Change problematic driver behavior through information and training opportunities
- Impose sanctions as more points and convictions are accumulated
Drivers can get 2-6 points added to their license depending on the severity of the violation, from speeding to reckless and aggressive driving.
These points are credited at full value for the first 12 months. After that, it will go to a half-point value for the next 12 months until it expires. For example, if you get 12 points, after a year, it will go down to 6 points only, then 3, until it expires.
Note: points given for serious convictions will not expire.
Now, the number of points accumulated can lead to a range of sanctions.
- 8 points on your license will merit a warning letter from the DMV.
- 12 points on your license will require you to complete a defensive driving course.
- 14 points on your license can mean license suspension for 4 to 12 months. And, you will need to complete a defensive driving course to have your license reinstated.
For more information about the Delaware point system and the Driver Improvement Problem Driver program, visit the Delaware DMV page.
Defensive Driving Courses in Delaware
Delaware drivers who accumulate more than 12 points on their record or are convicted of aggressive driving are required to take a defensive driving or behavior modification course.
Drivers can also voluntarily take the course to dismiss a traffic ticket (to avoid point accumulation) or apply for an auto insurance discount.
Note: make sure to contact your local Delaware court or insurance provider to ensure that the course will be credited.
Looking for a good defensive driving course?
We highly recommend iDriveSafely.
iDriveSafely offers one of the fastest and shortest online defensive driving classes.
They offer 4 flexible Delaware traffic course packages to cater to your specific needs:
- Delaware Defensive Driving Course
- Delaware Aggressive Driver Course
- Delaware Insurance Discount Course
- Delaware 3-year Refresher or Renewal
Whether you’re required to fulfill a court order, or you’re voluntarily taking the course to avoid points or get an insurance discount, you can opt for the Delaware Defensive Driving course.
The Aggressive Driver Course will fulfill eight credit hours of mandatory driver improvement.
The last two packages make applying for an auto insurance discount even easier with a special curriculum for reducing your insurance premiums.
Each course is 100% online and made even more convenient with reliable technical and customer support. You can learn with various study tools and resources in text, audio, video, and animation format.
It’s one of the best online traffic schools in Delaware. So definitely go check it out!
If you thought requesting your Delaware driving record was complicated, it’s not at all.
You can request a copy online, by mail, or in person.
So whatever you need your driving record for, you now know how to get hold of it.
And, by understanding the point system in Delaware, you’ll be more aware of your driving record points.
We hope this article has been a great help!