A driving record shows any traffic infractions, moving violations, suspensions, and other driving offenses that can negatively affect you.
The consequences of having a bad record may affect your driving privileges and insurance coverage.
Knowing your driving record, then, will help you improve yourself and be more responsible.
But how can you check your driving record?
In this article, we’re going to give you a complete guide on how to get your driving record in Maine. Plus, we’ll talk about Maine’s point system and how to improve your driving record.
So let’s begin
The Types of Driving Records in Maine
In Maine, there are 4 types of driving records:
3-Year Driving Record
10-Year Driving Record
Electronic Driving Record
Certified Driving Record
Driving records with no personal information can be accessed by the public. While driving records with personal information can only be seen if there is a written consent form from the driver.
The 3 Ways to Request Your Driving Record
To obtain your driving record from the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicle, you can request it through:
Any BMV office in Maine
Let’s discuss each way in detail.
If you’re going to request your driving record through mail, you need to write a written request and mail it to:
Bureau of Motor Vehicles
Driver License Services Division
29 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333-0029
Your request should include the following:
Your full name that appears in your license, current address, and date of birth
Specify if you would like to get a 3-Year Record or a 10-Year Record*.
Include in your letter if you also need a copy of an accident report, suspension, or conviction. You’ll need to add $5 for this request.
If you would like to receive your driving record by fax, include your fax number and an additional $2 fee for this request.
For a certified copy of your driving record, a fee of $1 will be added.
*For a 3-Year Record, the fee is $5.
For a 10-Year Record, the fee is $10.
Note: make sure your payment is payable to the Secretary of State.
If you want to obtain your driving record in person, you can visit any BMV office in Maine.
When you do, don’t forget to bring your driver’s license and a few cash.
Again, the fee for a 3-Year driving record is $5, while for a 10-Year driving record it is $10. You’ll need to add an additional $1 for a certified copy of your driving record.
For the most convenient option, request your driving record online.
All you have to do is fill up this form and submit it.
The form requires:
Date of birth OR driver’s license number
With online requests, you’ll get an Electronic Record. If you need a physical copy, you’ll have to print the record yourself.
Note: Certified Driving Records cannot be accessed online. This is because Certified Records contains your personal information.
The fees are a little bit more expensive for online requests, too.
The 3-Year Record is $7 and the 10-Year Record for $12.
Understanding the Point System in Maine
The more points you have in your driving record, the more chances of high auto insurance rates, big fines, and even license suspension.
Now, for each traffic violation, you get several traffic tickets that add points to your driving record.
8-Point Traffic Tickets
This includes operating after suspension and traffic infractions.
6-Point Traffic Tickets
This includes exceeding 15 mph but less than 30 mph, illegal transportation of liquor or drug by a minor, driving on the wrong way or side, leaving the scene of the accident, operating with improper license, improper lane change, violation of instruction permit.
4-Point Traffic Tickets
This includes excessive acceleration, failure to keep right, exceeding the speed by less than 15 mph, imprudent driving, imprudent speed, red light violation, failure to obey stop signs, operating without a license, operating a vehicle with an obstructed view, failure to keep right excessive acceleration.
2-Point Traffic Tickets
This includes failing to signal, failure to dim lights, crossover violation, illegal turn, impeding the flow of traffic, littering, operating without lights, speeding under posted minimum, displaying red or blue light, failure to maintain control of the vehicle, failure to obey railroad grade crossing, other moving violations.
What To Do With Your Maine Driving Record
In Maine, once a driver has accumulated 12 points or more within one year, their driving license will be suspended or completely revoked. Aside from that, insurance companies will charge higher premiums if the driver has high points.
This is why it’s important to check that all information listed on your driving record is accurate.
Should there be any error in your driving record, call the court records office at (207) 624-9000.
Note: you will need to provide as much information as possible as proof of the error or its correction.
Checking your driving record is also important to see how many points you already have. If you see that it is nearing 12 points, you have to do something about it or else your license will be suspended or even revoked.
Improve Your Record with an Online Traffic School
If you want to remove points from your driving record or dismiss a ticket, you should attend a traffic school.
The great news is that Maine authorizes online traffic schools.
However, you have to ask permission from your court handler if a traffic school will dismiss a ticket. The same is true if you want to remove points, always ask the BMV first.
Looking for a reliable online traffic school?
Check out GoToTrafficSchool!
GoToTrafficSchool is a reliable and state-approved online traffic school in Maine.
Their courses are easy to understand and mobile-friendly. And, what’s especially great about them is that they offer a money-back guarantee. In case you don’t find their courses helpful, they offer a full refund!
Take note that their Maine Driving Dynamics course will not clear your history report. This will only take 2 points off your driving record and reduce the charge for your violations.
What’s more, registration is fast and students can start the course immediately.
Once completed, they will send the certificate of completion to you or directly to the court.
Checking your driving record once in a while is important.
You don’t want there to be any errors. And, you want to make sure that it is not full of points already.
Well, you’ll be happy to know that requesting for your Maine driving record is so easy! Not only that, but you also have 3 options to choose from - mail, in person, or online.