Are you planning to get a copy of your Minnesota driving record?
While Minnesota doesn’t use a point system, you can avoid getting your license suspended by requesting your driving record periodically to check your moving violations.
You can also use your Minnesota driving record for insurance claims, employment, and legal proceedings.
Need help in obtaining your MN driving record?
Here, we’re going to give you a complete guide on how to get your driving record in Minnesota. Plus, we’ll talk about the types of driving records, what to use them for, and much more.
So let’s begin!
What Information Does a Minnesota Driving Record Give?
A Minnesota driving record is a comprehensive document that contains information that can be used by car insurance agencies, employers, government agencies, and investigators.
These mentioned entities may use your driving record to make decisions on your financial status. An example would be how an insurance company will refuse to give you an auto insurance discount if you’ve accumulated too many violations.
Now, your Minnesota driving record will contain information on:
- Traffic violations and accidents
- Driver’s license suspensions, cancellations, and revocations
Apart from these, there are four other categories of information that will be included in your Minnesota driving record:
- Private Information - This information will only be available to you and requestors authorized by MN law. It contains details on your Social Security number, medical information and caregiver details, and leased vehicle.
- Public Information - The general public can view this information. It will contain details on your Minnesota driver’s license status, demographic information, zip code, convictions, and outstanding fines and fees.
- Restricted Information - You or an authorized requestor can obtain this data. The section will contain personal information such as your complete name, date of birth, address, and driver’s license number.
- Confidential Information - This information can be accessed by authorized Minnesota DVS employees and staff. This section describes a driver’s ability to drive as described by family members and concerned individuals.
What are the Types of Driving Records in Minnesota?
There are two (2) types of driving records in Minnesota:
- Certified Driver Record: shows a complete record of driving history
- Non-certified Driver Record: shows only a five-year history of driver convictions
Depending on the purpose of your driving record, there are four (4) types of Minnesota record requests that you can make at the DVS:
- An Individual Inquiry can be requested by the driver of the record or an authorized individual - employers, investigators, research, insurance agencies, and federal, state, or local court.
- A citizen Crash Report may be obtained by the individual who submitted it for a fee of $5. Police Reports can be obtained by the individuals involved in the crash or an authorized agent. This is available about three weeks after the collision for a fee of $5.
You can visit the DVS website for detailed information on procedures, fees, and documents involved in a Minnesota crash report.
Note that drivers involved in a crash or accident in Minnesota resulting in injury, death, or property damage of at least $1,000 need to file a crash report within ten days of the crash.
- A Government Access request can be made by court agencies and law enforcement to verify the information to proceed with their programs. These entities must have access to the Minnesota DVS virtual records through a criminal justice computer network.
- A Commercial Inquiry can be made by commercial users. They will need to sign a legal access agreement as requesters may face criminal and civil penalties if the information on the record is misused.
How to Request For Your Minnesota Driving Record
For this section, we will discuss the methods of how you can obtain your Individual Inquiry record by mail or in person.
If you are requesting another driver’s record, make sure that you are included in the list of authorized requestors. You will also need to complete the Grant Access to Record Form with written consent.
The Minnesota driving record fees differ depending on the type of driving record. As of June 2021, the fee for:
- your own non-certified driving record is $9
- another person’s non-certified driving record is $9.50
- your own certified driving record is $10
- another person’s certified driving record is $10.50
Note: if you are ordering your Minnesota driving record in person, you must contact your local DVS office to confirm their accepted payment methods.
How to Request an MN Driving Record In Person
To request a copy of your driving record in person, print and fill out the DVS Records Request form. Then bring it to the Minnesota Central Office.
To complete the DVS request form, you will need to provide:
- Driver’s personal information
- Reason for request
- Mailing address
- Company information (if applicable)
How to Request an MN Driving Record By Mail
Print and fill out the DVS Records Request form and mail it, along with a check payable to the Driver and Vehicle Services, to:
Driver and Vehicle Services – Central Office
Town Square Building
445 Minnesota Street, Suite 190
Saint Paul, MN 55101-5190
Monitoring Your Minnesota Driving Record
Your Minnesota driving record contains up-to-date information on your driving and licensing violations inside and outside the state.
While you don’t have to worry about accumulating points on your record, getting serious or recurring moving violations can mean losing driving privileges, including license withdrawal by suspension, revocation, or cancellation.
Accumulating violations on your record might be a sign for you to enroll in a defensive driving course. This will help you avoid getting more tickets. You can also become more confident and safer on the road.
It’s also equally important to periodically monitor your Minnesota driving record to check for any errors that employers or insurance agencies may refer to.
If you find any errors that need to be corrected, visit your local Minnesota DVS office or call these numbers:
Phone: (651) 296-2940
TTY: (651) 282-6555
Defensive Driving Courses in Minnesota
You may be required by a court to complete a defensive driving course, or you may want to dismiss a ticket or get an auto insurance discount.
More importantly, an MN defensive driving course will help you become a more confident driver by improving your skills and knowledge. In addition, it will help you avoid any future violations, and you can avoid getting even more citations.
In that case, we recommend that you enroll in a state-approved online defensive driving course. Unlike in-person MN traffic school, you can have flexible class hours and more affordable classes.
Our top choice for Minnesota online traffic school is GoToTrafficSchool. This state-approved online course can fulfill your court requirements, dismiss your ticket, and help you get insurance discounts.
What we love the most about GoToTrafficSchool are its flexible learning capabilities. You can read comprehensive text resources or even listen to the lesson on the go through the read-aloud feature in multiple languages.
Learning is made easy because you can access all GoToTrafficSchool learning tools on your laptop, tablet, or mobile phone.
To get your money’s worth, GoToTrafficSchool offers a complete money-back and the lowest price guarantee. You can start the course for free, and pay only if they meet your expectations.
If you have any questions and concerns, the GoToTrafficSchool customer and technical support team are available 24/7/365.
To avoid license restrictions, you should make it a habit to monitor your Minnesota driving record. Remember that recurring violations in Minnesota can make it challenging to get auto insurance discounts or take away your driving privileges!
Thankfully, it’s so easy to request a copy of your MN driving record by mail or in person.
And finally, to stay safe on the road and avoid getting any more traffic violations, enroll in a state-approved online defensive driving course.