At some point, you might need to get hold of your OR driving record.
If so, you’ll want to know how you can request a copy.
Well, we’re here to tell you how. In this article, we’re going to give you a complete guide on how to get a driving record in Oregon.
Not only that, but we’ll also discuss the types of OR driving records, what to do with your driving record, and the Oregon points system.
With this, you’ll know everything you need to know about your driving record.
So let’s get to it!
Types of Driving Records in Oregon
The Oregon law requires the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to maintain all your vehicle and driver records. These are public records.
However, certain personal information contained in the record cannot be disclosed unless the requester qualifies to view it.
That said, there are 5 common types of driving records in Oregon. These are:
- 3-Year Non-Employment (Certified) - This record includes all non-employment-related vehicular accidents, suspensions, cancellations, convictions, and revocations in Oregon for the last three years. The fee is $1.50, even if there are no records found.
- Non-Employment, Open-Ended (Certified) - This record includes the same information as a 3-Year non-employment record. However, this is only used for insurance purposes. The fee is $1.50, even if there are no records found.
- 3-Year Employment (Certified) - This includes vehicular accidents and convictions that were committed while on the job. The fee is $2.00. If the record is not found, there will be a fee of $1.50.
- Certified Court Print - You can request for a 5-year record or a 10-year record. May also include out-of-state commercial entries. Serious criminal violations such as driving under the influence of alcohol may be on your record permanently.
The 5-Year record includes convictions for minor traffic violations, accidents, cancellations, revocations, and suspensions.
The 10-Year record includes major or criminal traffic violations, commercial driver license entries, alcohol rehab entries, and diversion agreements.
The fee is $3.00. If the record is not found, there will be a fee of $1.50.
- Certified Court Print with CDL Medical Certification - This will contain the same information as the certified court print record. The only difference is it includes CDL medical qualifications. The fee is $3.00. If the record is not found, there will be a fee of $1.50.
All prices are as of June 2021
How to Order a Driving Record in Oregon
Now, let’s explain the different ways you can order an Oregon driving record. There are 3 ways to do this:
- By mail
Let’s take a look at each way.
To request your Oregon driving record through mail, complete Form 735-6691. Submit it, along with the fee (check or money order payable to OREGON DMV) to:
Oregon DMV / Record Services
1905 Lana Avenue NE
Salem, Oregon, 97314
The Oregon DMV will mail or fax your driving record for an additional fee, or you may schedule it for a pick-up (to be specified in the “Special Instructions” area).
If you prefer to order your driving record in person, you must visit the local DMV Field Office in your area. Bring proof of identity, payment fee, and the completed Form 735-6691.
If you’re a parent or guardian of a minor, you need to have a notarized power of attorney or notarized permission slip to obtain the driving record of the minor.
Remember, anyone can request a driving record on behalf of another person, as long as the driving record will be mailed to the same address on the record.
Perhaps the easiest and most convenient way to order your Oregon driving record is online. To order, you just need to:
- Visit the DMV2U Online Service Center
- Scroll down and look for the card under “License, Permit & ID”
- Choose “Purchase my driving record”
- Provide the details being requested to confirm your identity, such as your date of birth and driver’s license number.
For assistance, you may contact Oregon DMV Customer Support at (503) 945-5000.
What To Do With Your Oregon Driving Record?
Once you already have your Oregon driving record, you should first check if there are errors and if the personal information is accurate. Checking for errors is vital to ensure that your driving privileges are still intact.
Errors are uncommon, but they can still occur. In case you notice any error or inaccurate information, contact the DMV as soon as possible to have it corrected.
If you notice an increase in your insurance rates, you may contact your insurance provider and show them the corrected driving record.
Driving Record Points in Oregon
Oregon doesn’t use points to track your traffic violations and convictions. Instead, they have a Driver Improvement Program, in which the more tickets you get, the more chances of having a suspended license.
For Drivers Under 18 Years of Age
In Oregon, if you’re under 18, you get a provisional license. Now, if you get two traffic violations or accidents in two years, your driving privileges will be restricted for 90 days. This means you will only be allowed to drive if you have your parents or guardian as passengers.
If a third offense occurs, your license will be suspended for six months.
For Drivers Over 18 Years of Age
If you get three traffic tickets or accidents in 18 months, your license will be restricted for 30 days. This restriction means you cannot drive between 12 a.m. to 5 a.m. unless you need to go to work.
If you get another ticket or accident in the following six months, your driver’s license will be suspended for 30 days. Any accidents that will occur again in the next two years, your license will be suspended again for 30 days per conviction.
How to Improve Your Oregon Driving Record?
Getting a traffic ticket can ruin your car insurance rates. Not to mention, the hassle and stress that you will go through to dismiss the ticket or remove convictions off of your record.
However, sometimes it just can’t be avoided.
The good news is that you can now dismiss traffic tickets by attending a traffic school!
Note: ticket dismissals in Oregon are only offered to first-time offenders and should have the approval of the judge.
Even if you’re not a first-time offender, traffic school courses will help prevent you from getting points in the future. This is because it will give you a refresher course on safe driving, Oregon rules and laws, and much more.
Luckily, gone are the days when you need to be physically present just to complete the traffic school courses. You can now take the courses online—anytime and anywhere!
Looking for a reliable, state-approved, online traffic school?
We recommend iDriveSafely!
iDriveSafely is one of the most reliable, fast, and easy online traffic schools in Oregon. Over the years, they established a proven track record in improving the driving skills of thousands of drivers.
What you will love about them is their courses contain interactive graphics that will help you better understand the traffic laws and rules in Oregon. Plus, it offers the shortest course allowed by Oregon law. You’ll be finished with it in no time.
Getting a copy of your driving record in Oregon is very simple. Whether you are more comfortable doing it through the mail, in-person, or online, all you need to do is follow the steps provided in this article and you’re good to go!