Holding a driver’s license comes with a huge privilege and responsibility. The public expects that you follow all traffic laws, and prioritize people’s as well as your safety at all times.
To properly track and make sure all drivers abide by the rules, the state of South Carolina keeps records of every license holder’s driving history.
A South Carolina driving record contains personal information such as full name, address, driver’s license number, and status. It reports traffic citations for moving violations, tickets, and accidents, as well as demerit points for such violations.
A driving record also shows any suspension or cancellation.
If you need to get hold of your driving record, then you’ve come to the right place.
In this article, we’ll walk you through a complete 2022 guide on how to get a driving record in South Caroline.
So let’s begin!
Driving Record Types in South Carolina
The state of South Carolina maintains two types of driving records:
As you might guess, the 3-year report shows your driving history for the last 3 years, while the 10 report goes back 10 years.
With each report, you can get either a certified or uncertified one.
For official uses and purposes, a certified report is needed. But if you’re only getting it for personal use, then you can get an uncertified report.
How Do You Request for a Driving Record in South Carolina?
You can get your South Carolina driving record in person, by mail, or online.
Read on to find out how to submit a request in these 3 ways:
If you wish to make the request in person, you can do so at your local DMV office.
Before that, download and complete the Request for Driver Information Form (MV-70).
When you get to the office, don’t forget to bring the form (or you can get the form from the office and complete it there), 2 proofs of identification, and a fee of $6. You can pay by cash, check, debit, or credit card.
To request your driving record by mail, download and complete the MV-70 form. You’ll need to include your information, such as your mailing address, license number, date of birth, and the purpose of your request.
Mail it to the below address along with a $6-check payable to the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles. Do not send cash when ordering your driving record by mail.
PO Box 1498
Blythewood, SC 29016-0035
For the most convenient option, request your driving record online via the DMV web portal.
Note: if you don’t have an account in the web portal, you’ll have to create one to use their online services.
To request a driving record, you will need to identify yourself by providing the following information:
Driver’s License or Customer Number
License Issue Date
Social Security Number
Date of Birth
Then, you will need to input your payment information for the $6 request fee. South Carolina DMV accepts payments via debit and credit card (American Express, Discover, Mastercard, or Visa).
If you request a certified driving record, you will receive it by mail. An uncertified driving record will appear as a downloadable PDF link.
Why You Need to Check Your South Caroline Driving Record
Checking your driving record from time to time is important for several reasons.
Report any case of identity theft
Identity theft is a serious threat to privacy and, unfortunately, is very common in the United States.
Identity theft can occur when a criminal gets hold of your license, alters your photo, and uses it as fake identification, or sells it to another person. When that person commits a traffic violation, it will appear on your record, and you will have to be charged for it.
If your driver’s license is lost, missing, or stolen, report it immediately to the authorities.
Check for errors on your record
Errors may appear on your driving record. This might be a violation that is reported by mistake or a point that has not been removed after you completed a driver improvement course. If you spot an error on your record, raise a request for correction to the DMV.
One of the main purposes of getting your driving record is a routine check, to ensure that you are not at risk of getting your license suspended, canceled, or revoked. It’s better to know if you are close to accumulating 12 points before it is too late.
South Carolina Driving Record Points System
Like many other states, South Carolina follows a points system for evaluating license-holders.
Points are added to a driver’s record each time they commit violations, receive traffic citations, and cause accidents.
The more points a driver accumulates in their record, the more fines the Department of Motor Vehicles charges, and the higher the auto insurance rates.
The South Carolina DMV imposes license suspension on drivers with 12 or more points on their record.
The good news is, compared to other states, South Carolina DMV decreases driving record points by half after a year.
Improve Your Driving Record With an Online Traffic School
You can improve your South Carolina driving record by going to traffic school. The state allows you to attend traffic school once every three years.
Now, you can take a defensive driving course voluntarily or upon receiving a court order. This will allow you to remove points from your public record and dismiss a traffic ticket. You will also learn more about driver safety and potentially receive a car insurance discount.
Note: you should always ask the DMV, your court handler, or insurance company if they will accept an online traffic school to remove points, dismiss tickets, get insurance discounts.
Looking for a reliable online traffic school?
Then check out iDriveSafely!
iDriveSafely is considered the fastest and easiest online traffic school in the US. I mean, its defensive driving courses are the shortest allowed by law. You won’t have to spend more than you need to on lessons.
Plus, the quizzes and final exams are easy to pass.
Its SC program is a four-hour long course that tackles topics such as SC traffic laws, road rules, signs, signals, driving techniques, etc... Its materials include videos that keep you focused and entertained.
Should you have any concerns, the school’s customer support team is available seven days a week.
Getting a copy of your driving record in South Carolina can be done in several ways - here’s a quick recap:
- In-person: Go to your local DMV office and submit the Request for Driver Information Form (MV-70) and a $6 payment.
- By mail: Download and complete the Request for Driver Information Form (MV-70) and mail it to Alternative Media, PO Box 1498, Blythewood, SC 29016-0035 with your payment. Indicate your mailing address, license number, date of birth, and the purpose of your request.
- Online: Submit a request via the DMV web portal.
You can also take a defensive driving course voluntarily or upon receiving a court order to remove points from your public record or dismiss a traffic ticket. Don’t forget that you’ll need to ask permission first, though.
And, if you want the fastest course out there, consider iDriveSafely.