Do you need to get a copy of your Connecticut driving record?
Are you not sure how to request for one?
Now, there are several reasons why you might want to get hold of your driving record. For example, you might want to check how many demerit points you have before applying for an auto insurance discount.
Whatever the case, here’s a complete guide on how to get your Connecticut Driving Record. Plus, in this article, we’ll look into the Connecticut driving record information, point system, etc…
So buckle up and let’s get started.
What Information Do Connecticut Driving Records Contain?
Your Connecticut driving record will contain three types of legal information about your driver’s license. These are:
- Personal information
- Licensing information
- Driver history
Note: it is essential to check your driving record thoroughly to ensure that all information is accurate. Otherwise, it might cause you some trouble with insurance premiums and employment prospects.
This is used to verify the driver’s identity. Ensure that your descriptors, contact details, address, and social security number are accurate and up-to-date.
This section will contain information specific to the individual’s driver’s license, including license number, classification, issue and expiration date, status, endorsements, and restrictions.
This section will give employers, insurance agents, and other third-party entities an understanding of your driving behavior and habits.
It is critical to double-check the information on this section including traffic points, tickets, violations, offenses, fines, and accidents.
How Do I Request For My Connecticut Driving Record?
Connecticut drivers may request their own driving records online, in-person, or by mail.
If you would like to obtain the driving record of another Connecticut driver, you can only apply by mail. You should also fall under one of these categories:
- Potential employers
- Insurance agencies
- Government agencies and courts (for official business and criminal/civil proceedings)
- Individuals with written consent from the owner of the record
Let’s take a detailed look at how to request a driving record.
You can obtain an electronic copy of your own driving history through the Connecticut request portal in as little as 5-7 minutes.
You will need to enter and confirm your personal information, license information, and payment method.
Once the information required is complete, you can access, download, and print your driving record for 30 days for no additional fee.
You can also obtain your own driving history at your local DMV by appointment. Before heading to the DMV, it’s a good idea to check out their in-person requirements. You don’t want to arrive unprepared.
Here’s what you’ll need:
- A printed and filled out copy of the Records Request form
- A photo ID (driver’s license, passport, etc…)
- $20 for the request fee
Note: appointments made at AAA offices, 8 AM4 PMd Nutmeg Financial Credit Union may have an additional convenience charge of $8 per transaction.
For available payment options, you can use either cash, money order, personal and bank checks, and most debit cards with MasterCard or Visa logo.
If you need to obtain another driver’s record, you have to use the mail option. Of course, you can request your own record through this method as well.
To do that, you will need to print, fill out, and accomplish the first and second page of the Records Request form.
Then, send the form along with a check for $20 payable to the DMV. The requestor will also need to send a photocopy of a valid photo ID.
Send it to this address:
Department of Motor Vehicles
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06109
Attention: Copy Records
You can expect to receive a certified copy of the driving record approximately two to three weeks after you’ve made the request.
Understanding the Connecticut Points System
Each time a Connecticut driver is convicted of a traffic violation, points will be added to their driving record. The specific number of points will depend on the severity of the offense.
Points can stay on your license for up to 24 months. So if you’ve accumulated too many points within 24 months, it will result in:
- 6 points: warning letter from the DMV
- 10 points: 30-day license suspension
Note: acquiring 10 points or more on your license within five years of your initial suspension will mean re-suspension of your driver’s license. You will only be able to use your license again when you have 10 points or less on your record (points are removed every 24 months or can be dropped by your assigned court).
Traffic violations are assessed according to the severity of the infraction committed. You may get 1 to 5 points per moving violation.
The least common and least dangerous CT violations that incur 1 point includes speeding, illegal turns, driving in the wrong direction on one-way streets, and failure to use a turning signal.
Two to three-point violations include failure to obey stop signs, yield signs, and police officers, as well as failure to use seat belts, driving while impaired, and not giving way to emergency vehicles.
More serious violations that merit four to five points on your license will include:
- Passing a stopped school bus
- Driving closely with the intention of harassment
- Reckless driving of school bus
- Negligent homicide with a motor vehicle
What To Do With Your Connecticut Driving Record?
It is your responsibility to check your driving record at least once a year for any inaccurate information.
In case of inaccurate driving records, contact the Connecticut DMV through Phone at 800-842-8222 or 860-263-5700 (outside Connecticut or within the Hartford area), Monday through Friday between 8AM to 4PM.
You might also want to check your driving record for a job prospect or to get an insurance discount.
Defensive Driving Courses in Connecticut
If you don’t want further demerit points in your driving record, you can dismiss a violation ticket with defensive driving courses. Plus, these courses can also help you gain an auto insurance discount.
Note: Make sure to ask permission from your court handler or insurance provider if they will accept defensive driving courses. You don’t want to spend time studying and not be accepted a ticket dismissal or insurance discount.
If accepted for a defensive driving course, we highly recommend attending GoToTrafficSchool.
GoToTrafficSchool provides a convenient means to complete the defensive driving course with innovative learning tools, including video, audio, quizzes, and video games available on any device.
It is critical to check your driving record regularly to ensure that you avoid license suspension and/or to get an auto insurance discount.
So to recap, here’s how to order your driving record:
- Online - Go to the Connecticut request portal, fill out the form, and pay the fees.
- In-person - Schedule an appointment, print and fill out the Records Request form, go to your local DMV, give all the documents and pay the fees.
- Mail - Print and fill the Records Request form. Mail it, along with the fee and other documents, to the Department of Motor Vehicles, 60 State Street, Wethersfield, CT 06109, Attention: Copy Records
Looking to dismiss your traffic violation or want to get an auto insurance discount? Then we highly recommend GoToTrafficSchool for a convenient and quick defensive driving course.