• Home
  • |
  • Blog
  • |
  • How to Get Your Driving Record in Arizona

DrivingSchoolExpress is partnered with the best online traffic and driver’s ed schools. When you sign up using our links, we may get a small affiliate commission. Read how we conduct our reviews here

Do you need to get a copy of your driver record?

Finding a clean driving record doesn’t just give you peace of mind, it also hikes up your chances of finding a job and getting an auto insurance discount.

To find out how you can obtain your driving record and clear your points, read our comprehensive guide on how to get your driving record in Arizona.

Why Will You Need Your Driving Record? 

Driver records will contain a complete account of your driving and license history, license status, license endorsements, fines, tickets, accidents, violations, points, suspensions, and restrictions.

An Arizona driving record that accumulates a fair number of points can hurt your chances of finding a job and getting an auto insurance discount. You may even get your license suspended! 

That said, driving records are used:

  • By employers as part of their pre-employment background screening
  • By auto insurance companies to investigate claims and adjust their policy rates
  • In court and legal proceedings

Read on to find out more about requesting your AZ driving record and how to clear your points.

What are the Types of Driving Records in Arizona?

There are four (4) types of Arizona driving records:

  • 59-month uncertified driving record
  • 39-month certified driving record
  • 5-year uncertified driving record
  • 5-year certified driving record

Let’s look at each one in detail.

Note: uncertified driving records are typically requested for personal use as these are not official documents that can be used by employers, companies, and in the court of law.

39-Month Uncertified Driving Record

This record will contain your complete driving record in Arizona for the past 39 months. This document can be requested online, by mail, or in person.

39-month Certified Driving Record

This is an official record that contains your complete driving record in Arizona for the past 39 months. This document is available in person.

5-year Uncertified Driving Record

This record will contain your complete driving record in Arizona for the past five years. This document is available by mail or in person.

5-year Certified Driving Record

This is an official document that contains your complete driving record in Arizona for the past five years. This document is available by mail or in person.

How to Request For Your Arizona Driving Record

To obtain a printed copy of your MVR, the DPPA requires “permissible use” to request and receive your driving record. You will find all permissible uses on the MVR request forms. These forms must be notarized or witnessed by an MVD agent.

If you are eligible to request a copy of your MVR, here’s how you can do it:

Online

You may obtain an electronic copy of your uncertified 39-month driving record through the ServiveArizona portal.

You will need to enter and confirm your personal information, pay a fee of $3, and complete an optional survey. You may then view and print your uncertified MVR.

In-person 

You can obtain all four driving records in person at your local MVD or an authorized third-party office

You will need to fill out the MVR request form. An MVD agent at the office must witness you signing the document. You will also need to provide photo identification.

Over-the-counter certified requests are at $5, while uncertified requests are at $3.

Payment can be made through cash, money order, or check. Some locations will accept credit card payments.

Mail

You can obtain these three driving records through mail: certified 39-month, 5-year uncertified, and 5-year certified. You will need to complete and notarize the MVR request form before sending it through the mail. 

Mail-in certified requests are at $5, while uncertified mail-in requests are at $3.

Send the completed form along with your payment (by cheque or money order) to the Arizona MVD at:

Mail Drop 505M

Records Unit

Motor Vehicle Division

PO Box 2100, MD 555M

Phoenix, AZ 85001

Understanding the Arizona Driving Record Points System

Each time you are convicted of a moving traffic violation, points will be added to your driving record.

If you accumulate eight or more points on your Arizona driving record, you will be required to attend Traffic Survival School (TSS) or your license may be suspended for up to 12 months.

Note: Traffic Survival School is an 8-hour class that’s required to be taken in a classroom.

Points are assessed according to the infraction committed. You may get 2 to 8 points per moving violation, depending on the severity.

Extreme moving offenses that will merit 6 to 8 points include:

  • Reckless driving
  • Aggressive driving
  • DUI and Extreme DUI
  • Hit-and-run
  • Failure to stop/yield to traffic signals

Speeding, driving over a parking area, and all other minor moving violations will merit 2 to 3 points.

For more information about the Arizona points assessment, visit azdot.gov.

What To Do With Your Arizona Driving Record

Checking your Arizona driving record for any errors is critical. In case of inaccurate driving records, contact the Arizona MVD through phone call at 602.255.0072 or email

For more information on how to read your uncertified 39-month Arizona driving record, check out this page.

You might also want to steer away from more points being added to your driving record to prevent license suspension.

In that case, if you have not attended a defensive driving course in the past 12 months, you may attend a classroom or online traffic school to avoid points assessed to your license (if allowed by your local court). Not only that, but defensive driving courses help drivers improve their driving skills and learn about Arizona traffic laws, defensive driving techniques, and road safety. 

Defensive Driving Courses in Arizona

All Arizona traffic schools will require at least 4 to 4 and ½  hours of defensive driving instruction. While AZ online defensive driving courses will have a course timer, you still have the benefit of studying at your own time and your own pace. 

If you have not been specifically court-ordered to attend classroom traffic school, we recommend that you enroll in an online defensive driving course. It is the most convenient and affordable option to remove your points and improve your driving skills.

Here are our recommendations for online traffic schools in Arizona.

GoToTrafficSchool

How to Get Your Driving Record in Arizona GoToTrafficSchool

GoToTrafficSchool has been around for decades, and they are highly trusted in the traffic school industry.

You can rely on GoToTrafficSchool to automatically process your certificate of completion on the same day you finish the course. They also offer a money-back and lowest-price guarantee.

All students can find suitable learning tools thanks to their text, video, audio, and video game resources available on any device. 

What’s more, they have reliable 24/7 customer support.

How to Get Your Driving Record in Arizona MyImprov

The best thing about MyImprov Traffic School is that they prioritize student entertainment. There will never be a dull moment with skits and scripts written by Hollywood writers and expert driving instructors! 

Aside from hilarious videos, MyImprov Traffic School has zero hidden fees. You can get free certificate filing, unlimited test retakes, court reminders, and many more features for a fixed price. 

They also have a free dedicated mobile app for your ultimate convenience.


Conclusion

Keeping your driving record clean can help enhance your chances of getting an auto insurance discount and finding a job.

The good news is it’s so easy to request a copy of your Arizona MVR online, by mail, or in person. You can conveniently track your driving record if you need to.

And in case you don’t want more points added to your license, enrolling in a state-approved online traffic school will be a wise idea.

Related Posts

Do you need to check on your Wyoming license status after receiving a traffic ticket? Do you not know how to request a Wyoming driving record? If so, then we’re here to help.  In this article, we’re going to give you a complete 2022 guide on how to get your

Read More

Did you know that receiving a traffic ticket in Wisconsin can lead to a suspended license? Since Wisconsin follows a point system, getting too many traffic violations can lead to limited driving privileges, expensive auto insurance premiums, and even difficulty landing a job. So, to keep track of your points

Read More

A chill, leisurely drive along the Crossroads of America - what a way to start your day.But then peonies don't smell that sweet anymore, because you got a traffic ticket and your mood drops very low. A traffic citation won’t look good on your driving record, that’s a given.What if you

Read More

If you’ve recently received a traffic ticket in West Virginia, you might be worried about your license traffic points.  Getting too many points on your driving record can lead to suspension or revocation of your West Virginia license! You might even find it difficult to ask for auto insurance premium

Read More
{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}