Looking to get hold of your Colorado driving record?
Well, you’ll be happy to know that getting your Motor Vehicle Record (MVR) or driving record in Colorado is fairly easy.
That is if you have a clear idea of how the process works.
This is what we’ll be discussing here. We’re going to give you a complete guide on how to get your driving record in Colorado.
So, whether you received a court order to submit your Colorado driving record, your employer needs it for a background check, or if you are applying for vehicle insurance, keep on reading to get all the details you need to order your driving record.
What’s in a Colorado Driving Record?
Your MVR, provided by the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles (CO DMV), contains your personal information and any additional details regarding special needs, such as the need for corrective lenses or special mirrors.
More importantly, your driving record contains all your driving activity that has been accumulated for the last seven years. This includes:
license suspensions or cancellations
driving record points
What are the Driving Record Types in Colorado?
There are 2 types of driving records in Colorado:
The certified driving records
The uncertified driving records
Both are updated and maintained by the CO DMV.
Both types will show all the traffic violations, accidents, and other license activities that you, the subject of the record, have been involved in the last seven years.
So what’s the difference?
Certified driving records are verified by the Colorado Motor Vehicle Division and can fulfill legal and official purposes.
Meanwhile, uncertified driving records are usually requested for personal use. Most drivers who just want to keep tabs on their records get this type of MVR.
What are the Types of Driving Record Requests in Colorado?
There are 3 types of driving record requests that can be made in Colorado:
Private Investigator Request
A Self-Request is for your own driving record, while a Private Investigator and Attorney Request is for requests made for the driving record of another individual.
Colorado’s privacy laws do not allow you to order a driving record of another person without that person's permission. But if you are requesting a record as an employer or because of a pending court case, you may be permitted to receive the record based upon the criteria of the Driver Record Search Requestor Release.
How Do You Order Your Driving Record in Colorado?
There are 3 ways for you to obtain your driving record in Colorado:
The driving record fee for a non-certified driving record is just around $2.20, while the certified copy will cost a little higher at $2.70.
Note: the Colorado DMV usually accepts a personal check or money order made payable to The Colorado Department of Revenue. They do NOT accept credit cards.
How to Order In Person
If you have the time, and you don’t mind falling in line at the local DMV, you can order your driving record personally.
Just head to the nearest Driver’s License Office and bring your documents to get a non-certified copy of your driving record. The documents you need are:
Your driver’s license
Social Security Number
Vehicle registration documents
Note: If you need a certified copy, you should go straight to their Lakewood branch located at 1881 Pierce Street, Lakewood, CO.
How to Order by Mail
You might find ordering by mail more convenient than in person.
To do that, you just need to send in a written request to obtain a mail-order copy of your driving record.
Unlike other states, the Colorado DMV does not have a specific form that you have to fill out. Instead, you need to write an actual letter addressed to The Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles and provide the details of your request. You may want to include the following information:
Date of birth
Driver’s license number
Don’t forget to specify if you are requesting a certified or non-certified copy of your records. Also, make sure you sign the letter and include a check or money order made payable to the Colorado Department of Revenue.
For a certified copy, send your letter to:
Department of Revenue, Division of Motor Vehicles
Driver Control Section at 1881 Pierce Street, Lakewood, CO 80214
For an uncertified copy, send it to:
Department of Revenue, Division of Motor Vehicles
Driver Control Section, Denver, CO 80261-0016
Depending on your location, the processing of your order can take 10 to 14 business days after they receive your request.
How to Order Online
If you want a quick and easy process of obtaining your driving record in Colorado, you can do it online! This will take you around 5-10 minutes to complete.
Submit a request by visiting the Colorado DMV website. Prepare your credit card information, your driver’s license, and a valid email address.
You will also be asked to provide the following:
Date of birth.
Driver's license number
A photocopy of your photo ID with your signature
Uncertified driving records will be sent to your email address as soon as it has been processed. But certified copies will have to be sent via postal mail.
What To Do With Your Colorado Driving Record?
Once you receive your driving record, you should verify if the information on your record is accurate.
Although Colorado driving records are always precise, there is still a slim chance that you may find an error on your MVR.
You can start by checking your personal information. If there are any changes to your address or last name, make sure that it has already been updated on your record.
Then you can check your violations and your accumulated points to ensure that there are no erroneous records added in.
Report the Error
Should you find any inaccurate information on your record, immediately reach out to the Colorado DMV to sort things out. You can call them at (303) 205-5600 or at TDD (303) 205-5940.
Meanwhile, if you find demerit points piling up, you might want to clear the points on your driving record. This can help you get a lower auto insurance rate, and if you’re applying for a job that requires driving, a clean record can improve your chances of getting hired.
What are the Driving Record Points in Colorado?
To help you validate the accuracy of the points on your record, here’s a list of some Colorado traffic infractions and their corresponding demerit points:
TYPE OF VIOLATION
DUI (driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol)
DUI per se (driving with a BAC of .08% or higher)
Speeding 40 mph or more over the limit
Leaving the scene of an accident
Evading/eluding an officer
DWAI (driving while ability impaired)
Speeding 20 mph to 39 mph over the limit
Failure to stop for a school bus
Speeding 10 mph to 19 mph over the limit
UDD (underage drinking and driving)
Failure to show or maintain proof of insurance
Failure to yield to emergency vehicle
Failure to observe traffic sign or signal
Driving on the wrong side of the road
Driving through safety zone
Driving in the wrong direction on a one-way street
Failure to yield right of way
Operating an unsafe vehicle
Failure to dim, or turn the lights on
Improper signal/failure to signal
Speeding 5 mph to 9 mph over the limit
Every violation and its corresponding point value appear on your record.
If you’ve accumulated many demerits points in your driving record for moving violations, your driver’s license may be suspended for 6 months to a year.
However, the number of driver’s license points at which the Colorado DMV will suspend your driving privileges will depend on your age and whether you are a professional driver.
Let’s have a look at how many points suspends a license.
Adult drivers (21 years old above):
12 points within 12 months
18 points within 24 months
Minor drivers (18 to 20 years old):
9 points within 12 months
12 points within 24 months
14 points accumulated between 18 to 21 years old
Minor drivers (under 18):
6 points within 12 months
7 points before 18 years old
Chauffeur Points (for those employed as professional drivers), including taxi cab drivers and traditional chauffeurs:
16 points within 12 months
24 points within 24 months
28 points within 48 months
How to Avoid Points on Your Colorado Driving Record?
The state of Colorado does not have a statewide program for dismissing traffic tickets by completing a defensive driving course.
However, if you received court permission to attend Colorado traffic school, you may:
Get your fine waived or reduced
Get your ticket dismissed (helps you avoid point accumulation)
Reinstate a suspended license
Get a reduction in your auto insurance cost
Now, if you decide to take this course, here are some of our recommended schools approved in different courts in Colorado.
iDriveSafely’s online traffic school in Colorado is approved by several individual courts throughout the state (check the website for the list of courts).
They are one of the most trusted online traffic schools nationwide. Their course is easy to complete and straightforward. Despite that, it includes animated 3D video clips and interactive graphics to make lessons less boring.
You’ll be able to finish their courses in no time!
If you want to order your driving record in Colorado, the process is really easy.
Here’s a quick recap of how you can do this:
- Order it in person by heading to the nearest Driver’s License Office with your documents (go to their Lakewood Office if you need a certified copy).
- Order it through the mail by writing a letter addressed to The Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles and provide the details of your request, along with your payment. For a certified copy, send your letter to the Lakewood Office. For a non-certified copy, send it to the Driver Control Section in Denver.
- Order it online from the Colorado DMV website - just provide the information required, your driver’s license, a valid email address, and pay the fee through a credit card.